09.08.2018

Update legal & regulations

Status FIDLEG/FINIG

On 15 June 2018, the day following the opening FIFA World Cup match, the Council of States and the National Council passed the Swiss Financial Services Act (Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz – “FIDLEG”) and the Swiss Financial Institution Act (Finanzinstitutsgesetz – “FINIG”). During the course of the consultations, Parliament took some teeth out of the proposals and thus greatly improved the Federal Council’s proposal and worked out a good compromise for sustainable investor protection. The new financial market legislation introduces cross-sectoral rules for the provision of financial services and the distribution of financial instruments. The content of the rules is based on EU regulations, with adjustments being made in key areas to reflect specific Swiss circumstances.

The law requires financial service providers to provide clients with appropriate information and advice, and introduces uniform rules on prospectus requirements. In addition, a Key Information Document (KID) must now be submitted for certain financial instruments offered to private clients. The KID is intended to enable well-founded investment decisions to be made, facilitating a real comparison of different financial instruments in a simple and understandable way. The association contributed towards two working groups headed by the State Secretariat for International Finance SIF – on the topics of execution provisions on prospectus law and the key investor information document – and in particular significantly influenced the structure of the KID. Rules governing its content, scope, design and language are set out in the FIDLEV (ordinance associated with the FIDLEG). For Switzerland, it is crucial that a workable solution is found, establishing a genuine alternative to the PRIIP KID, and moving away from the integral adoption of PRIIPs regulations. The association is keen to see the PRIIP KID as well as the German KID accepted as a foreign document of equal value, enabling it to be used in Switzerland in place of a KID. FIDLEV consultations are due to begin at the end of October 2018. The association will be closely involved here, and will make corresponding contributions. In addition, we shall address the specific implementation of the new regulation in working group meetings. The FIDLEG is expected to come into force on 1 January 2020.

PRIIPs – misleading performance scenarios and cost descriptions in KIDs

Since 1 January 2018, manufacturers of packaged investment products – in particular structured products – have had to prepare a package information leaflet in the form of a standardised key information document (KID): up to three pages long, containing essential features, enabling comparisons to be made with other products. Problems with the performance scenarios and cost breakdowns became apparent only shortly after the introduction of the KID. In particular in the case of products with short maturities and leverage products, the required annualisation produces performance scenarios that are incomprehensible and ultimately misleading. At the EUSIPA level, a working group has been set up to analyse the problems and to develop proposed solutions, as well as to hold discussions with the ESMA. The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) has conceded that there is considerable need for action when it comes to calculating performance scenarios, and ESMA has drawn up a Q&A to dispense with annualisation for maturities of less than one year. The EU Commission will shortly approve the Q&A to waive annualisation, which will at least greatly ameliorate the problem. There are other difficulties that also need to be solved, however. One possible solution would be to amend the RTS (Level II). The EU Commission currently views this as politically highly contentious, though. In the short term, it is planning to approach the issue by exercising a broad interpretation of Q&As. Within this context, it should be noted that the supervisory authorities are apparently themselves working on an explanation of performance scenarios. This explanation is designed to draw the attention of investors to the problems associated with performance scenarios and cost breakdowns. The EUSIPA working group is also discussing this matter, and will report on the result of these discussions in good time.

Product intervention within the EU

Across Europe since the beginning of January, all national as well as the three European supervisory authorities have had the opportunity to take product intervention measures. On 22 May 2018 the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) established two measures to protect small investors. On the one hand, with effect from 2 July 2018 binary options may no longer be offered and sold to small investors, while on the other the offer and sale of contracts for differences (CFDs) to small investors will be greatly restricted after 1 August 2018. These product intervention measures are applicable for a period of 3 months. Once this period has passed, they will be reviewed by the ESMA and, insofar as this is necessary to protect investors, will be extended by a further 3 months. It would seem that these measures were triggered by aggressive marketing practices used by providers based in Cyprus. Small investors in the EU were being offered highly speculative products with opaque information. The intervention concerning “binary options” very problematic, to the extent that it is not precisely clear which products are affected by the ban on sales. The measure addresses products with a very short maturity and fixed pay-off, which are not suitable for hedging purposes, but that serve primarily speculative purposes instead. Unfortunately, products that are securitised or traded on a stock exchange are not explicitly excluded from the scope of application of the ESMA measure. From the perspective of issuers, it is recommended that in the case of products affected by the sales ban, small investors should be defined as a negative target market.

Product intervention is also an issue at Germany’s Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (“BaFin”). BaFin is examining the notice periods for open-end products, and is planning to conduct a market enquiry into worst-of products.

SSPA News Signup

09.08.2018

Update Legal & Regulations

Stand FIDLEG/FINIG

Am Tag nach dem FIFA WM Eröffnungsmatch haben Stände- und Nationalrat am 15. Juni 2018 das Finanzdienstleistungsgesetz (FIDLEG) und das Finanzinstitutsgesetz (FINIG) verabschiedet. Das Parlament zog den Vorlagen im Verlauf der Beratungen einige Zähne und hat so die bundesrätliche Vorlage stark verbessert und einen guten Kompromiss für einen tragfähigen Anlegerschutz erarbeitet. Das neue Finanzmarktrecht bringt sektorübergreifende Regeln für das Angebot von Finanzdienstleistungen und den Vertrieb von Finanzinstrumenten. Inhaltlich orientieren sich die Regeln an der EU-Regelung, wobei in ganz zentralen Punkten Anpassungen an die spezifisch schweizerischen Verhältnisse vorgenommen wurden.

Das Gesetz verlangt von den Finanzdienstleistern eine dem Kunden angemessene Aufklärung und Beratung und es wird eine einheitliche Regelung bei der Prospektpflicht eingeführt. Neu muss zudem für gewisse Finanzinstrumente, die Privatkunden angeboten werden, ein Basisinformationsblatt (BIB) abgegeben werden. Das BIB soll auf einfache und verständliche Art eine fundierte Anlageentscheidung und einen echten Vergleich verschiedener Finanzinstrumente ermöglichen. Der Verband hat sich in zwei Arbeitsgruppen, die vom Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF geleitet werden – Thema Vollzugsbestimmungen zum Prospektrecht und Basisinformationsblatt – eingebracht und insbesondere die Ausgestaltung des BIB wesentlich mitgeprägt. Die Anforderungen an dessen Inhalt, Umfang, Gestaltung und Sprache werden in der FIDLEV (Verordnung zum FIDLEG) geregelt. Für die Schweiz ist entscheidend, eine angemessene Lösung zu finden und eine echte Alternative zum PRIIP KID zu schaffen, die von der integralen Übernahme der PRIIPs Regulierung absieht. Der Verband forciert, dass das PRIIP KID sowie das Deutsche PIB als gleichwertiges ausländisches Dokument ohne Einschränkungen in der Schweiz anstelle eines BIB verwendet werden kann. Ende Oktober 2018 soll die Vernehmlassung zur FIDLEV starten. Der Verband wird sich hier wieder engagieren und einbringen. Zudem werden wir uns in Arbeitsgruppensitzungen mit der konkreten Umsetzung der neuen Regulierung befassen. In Kraft treten wird das FIDLEG voraussichtlich am 1. Januar 2020.

PRIIPs – Irreführende Performance-Szenarien und Kostendarstellungen in KIDs

Seit dem 1. Januar 2018 müssen Hersteller von verpackten Anlageprodukten – wie insbesondere Strukis – einen Beipackzettel in der Form eines standardisierten Basisinformationsblatt („Key Information Document“; „KID“) erstellen: maximal drei Seiten mit den wesentlichen Merkmalen, die einen Vergleich mit anderen Produkten ermöglichen. Bereits kurz nach der Einführung des KID zeigen sich erste Probleme mit den Performance-Szenarien und Kostendarstellungen. Vor allem bei Produkten mit einer kurzen Laufzeit und bei Hebelprodukten führt die geforderte Annualisierung zu Performance-Szenarien, die nicht nachvollziehbar und letztlich irreführend sind. Auf EUSIPA-Ebene wurde eine Arbeitsgruppe ins Leben gerufen, um die Probleme zu analysieren und Lösungsansätze zu entwickeln und mit der ESMA zu diskutieren. Die European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) hat erkannt, dass erheblicher Handlungsbedarf bei der Berechnung der Performance-Szenarien besteht und die ESMAs haben eine Q&A zum Verzicht auf die Annualisierung bei unterjährigen Laufzeiten erarbeitet. Die EU-Kommission wird die Q&A zum Verzicht auf die Annualisierung demnächst freigeben, womit dann das Problem zumindest stark entschärft wird. Es gibt aber noch weitere Schwierigkeiten, die es zu lösen gilt. Eine Lösungsmöglichkeit wäre über eine Änderung der RTS (Level II). Dies sieht die EU-Kommission aber zurzeit als politisch sehr schwierig an. Sie will kurzfristig den Weg über eine weite Auslegung mit Q&As gehen. Bemerkenswert ist in diesem Zusammenhang, dass offenbar von den Aufsichtsbehörden selbstständig ein Hinweis zur Erläuterung der Performance-Szenarien erarbeitet wird. Mit diesem Hinweis soll der Anleger auf die Problematik der Performance-Szenarien und Kostendarstellungen aufmerksam gemacht werden. Die Arbeitsgruppe der EUSIPA diskutiert diesen Punkt auch und wird zu gegebener Zeit über das Ergebnis dieser Diskussionen informieren.

Produkt-Intervention in der EU

Seit Anfang Januar haben europaweit alle nationalen als auch die drei europäischen Aufsichtsbehörden die Möglichkeit, Produktinterventionsmassnahmen zu ergreifen. Am 22. Mai 2018 hat die European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) zwei Massnahmen zum Schutz der Kleinanleger erlassen. Einerseits dürfen ab dem 2. Juli 2018 keine binären Optionen („binary options“) mehr an Kleinanleger angeboten und verkauft werden und andererseits wird das Anbieten und der Verkauf von Contracts for Differences (CFDs) an Kleinanleger ab dem 1. August 2018 stark eingeschränkt. Diese Produktinterventionsmassnahmen gelten für eine Dauer von 3 Monaten und werden vor Ablauf dieser Frist von der ESMA überprüft und, sofern zum Schutz der Anleger notwendig, um weitere 3 Monate verlängert. Auslöser dieser Massnahmen waren offenbar aggressive Vermarktungstechniken von Anbietern mit Sitz in Zypern. Kleinanlegern in der EU wurden hoch spekulative Produkte mit intransparenten Informationen angeboten. Die Intervention bezüglich „binary options“ ist insofern sehr problematisch, als nicht klar ist, welche Produkte genau vom Vertriebsverbot erfasst werden. Erfasst werden sollen Produkte mit einer sehr kurzen Laufzeit und einem fixen Auszahlungsbetrag (payoff), die sich nicht für Absicherungszwecke eignen, sondern primär spekulativen Zwecken dienen. Produkte, welche wertpapiermässig verbrieft oder über eine Börse gehandelt werden, sind leider nicht explizit vom Anwendungsbereich der ESMA-Massnahme ausgenommen. Aus Seiten der Emittenten empfiehlt es sich bei Produkten, die vom Vertriebsverbot erfasst werden, Kleinanleger als negativen Zielmarkt zu definieren.

Bei der BaFin sind Produkteinterventionen auch ein Thema. Die BaFin schaut sich die Kündigungsfristen bei Open-end Produkten an und will eine Marktuntersuchung betreffend Worst-of Produkten vornehmen.

SVSP News abonnieren