08.03.2018

Update legal & regulations

Status FIDLEG/FINIG

Following the Council of States in December 2016, the National Council has now also approved the two draft laws FIDLEG and FINIG. In order to settle remaining the differences (WAK-S proposed that the Council of State should support the resolution passed by the National Council), the two proposals were debated by the Council of States in March – and a final decision is scheduled for the summer session of 2018. This will not come into force before 1 July 2019.

The SSPA contributed actively to WAK-N with specific proposals and – together with other industry associations – supports the approach taken by FIDLEG and FINIG in the current version. Parliament markedly improved the Federal Council’s proposals, and developed a sound compromise for workable investor protection rules. The association will continue to contribute actively towards the legislative process, for example when it comes to drawing up the execution ordinance FIDLEV.

The association contributed towards two working groups headed by the State Secretariat for International Finance SIF – on the topics of execution provisions on prospectus law and the key investor information document. Rules governing its content, scope, design and language are set out in the FIDLEV (ordinance associated with the FIDLEG). For Switzerland, it is crucial that a workable solution is found, establishing a genuine alternative to the PRIIP KID, and moving away from the integral adoption of PRIIPs regulations. The association is keen to ensure that the PRIIP KID can be used without restriction in Switzerland as an equivalent non-domestic document, in place of a key information sheet – as legislators intended. In addition, it has proposed that the German product information sheet should also be approved for use in Switzerland.

Implementation of MiFID 2 & PRIIPs regulations

The amended EU Directive on Markets in Financial Instruments (MiFID 2) and the EU Regulation on Key Information Documents for Packaged Retail and Insurance-based Investment Products (PRIIPs Regulation) came into force in January 2018. This also covers financial services providers from third-party states, such as Switzerland, if financial products are offered to small investors within the EEA.

The provisions of MiFID 2 primarily address sales-related topics, such as e.g. requirements governing client categorisation or cost and inducements transparency. They also apply to product manufacture, however. For example, the manufacturer is now required to introduce and maintain a product monitoring process (product governance) – including determination of the target market. Before pursuing sales, the manufacturer must define a target market for each financial instrument. The European MiFID template EMT is probably the most widely-based target market concept that is supported by the European Structured Investment Products Association EUSIPA. At the technical level, SIX Financial Services supports issuers when implementing the target market concept by means of its RegHub.

In addition to implementing MiFID 2, structured product issuers faced and continue to face challenges in the PRIIPs regulations. Despite shifting the implementation date from the end of 2016 to the start of 2018, this still represents a race against time. Manufacturers of packaged investment products – in particular structured products – now have to prepare a standardised key information document (PRIIP KID): up to three pages long, containing essential features, enabling comparisons with other products.

Both regulations demand greater cost transparency: the cost of the instrument as well as of the service now need to be reported. The PRIIP KID has to disclose not merely a breakdown of the costs in a defined table, the costs also need to be shown over time – subdivided into one-off, ongoing and supplementary costs. One-off costs include «entry costs» – in the case of structured products, these are mostly included in the product price. As a rule, structured products do not incur ongoing costs – except for example in the case of actively managed certificates with a management or administrative fee – nor do they incur supplementary costs.

MiFID 2 also demands personalised information covering the costs incurred in conjunction with the investment. Potential investors need to know the aggregate total costs – that is to say the service and product costs. In practice, this is often done by means of a cost sheet. At the «point-of sale» it is necessary to provide this information before the investment decision is taken (ex-ante cost transparency) – while in the case of an ongoing business relationship the bank must inform clients at least once per annum about the actual incurred costs (ex-post cost transparency).

08

Problems with the performance scenarios and cost breakdowns became apparent only shortly after introduction. These were calculated on the basis of simulations that drew upon historic developments based on the recommended holding period of the product.  In particular in the case of products with short maturities as well as leverage products, this calculation method can lead to an annual average return of over 1,000%. In the case of a recommended holding period of one day, it can even lead to average returns in the millions of percentage points. Such performance scenarios are problematic, make little sense and are ultimately misleading. The situation with costs is similar.

At the European level, this was addressed by contacting the relevant supervisory authorities, in addition member associations sought to identify a transitional solution. Three alternatives are currently up for discussion:

  1. A sensible interpretation of the provisions pertaining to the method of calculation, in order to ensure that ultimately no misleading scenarios or costs need to be reported.
  2. A declaration in the PRIIP KID concerning the misleading scenarios and costs.
  3. A separate document concerning the misleading information in the PRIIP KID.

Benchmark regulation

With effect from January 2018, the «EU Benchmark Regulation» (in short: «BMR») needs to be comprehensively applied. The BMR relates to indices that are used as reference parameters. By establishing a transparent capital market, investors should be better protected and confidence should be improved.

Primarily affected are administrators domiciled within the EU that provide or prepare the benchmarks. The Benchmark Regulation will, however, have an impact beyond the European Union. If an index or benchmark is calculated in a third-party state, for example in Switzerland, then both the benchmark as well as the administrator will need to be entered in a special register, in order to enable the benchmark to be used in the EU. The ESMA may decide that the legal framework and supervisory practice in a third-party state is sufficient, and that it is consequently not necessary to check every index and provider.

A central criterion is the BMR’s scope of application. Potentially, for example, baskets might be considered benchmarks as underlying securities of structured products, and could fall under the regulatory provisions, insofar as the value is published on an ongoing basis. Actively managed certificates may also be covered. The current understanding is that such underlying securities are not covered by the BMR, so long as the value of the basket continues to be published on an ongoing basis. This means market-making will not, in itself, be deemed to constitute an indirect publication of the basket value.

SSPA News Signup

08.03.2018

Update Legal & Regulations

Stand FIDLEG/FINIG

Nach dem Ständerat im Dezember 2016 hat nun auch der Nationalrat die beiden Gesetzentwürfe FIDLEG und FINIG angenommen. Um Differenzen zu bereinigen (WAK-S stellt Ständerat Antrag, dem Beschluss des Nationalrates zu folgen), werden beide Vorlagen im März im Ständerat behandelt – mit geplanter finaler Abstimmung in der Sommersession 2018. In Kraft tritt es frühestens am 1. Juli 2019.

Der SVSP hat sich über mit konkreten Anliegen aktiv eingebracht und spricht sich – gemeinsam mit weiteren Wirtschaftsverbänden – für die Stossrichtung von FIDLEG und FINIG in der aktuellen Fassung aus. Das Parlament hat die bundesrätliche Vorlage stark verbessert und einen guten Kompromiss für einen tragfähigen Anlegerschutz erarbeitet hat. Der Verband wird sich auch weiterhin aktiv in den Gesetzgebungsprozess einbringen, etwa bei der Erarbeitung der Vollzugsverordnung FIDLEV.

Der Verband engagierte sich in zwei Arbeitsgruppen, die vom Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF geleitet werden – Thema Vollzugsbestimmungen zum Prospektrecht und Basisinformationsblatt. Die Anforderungen an dessen Inhalt, Umfang, Gestaltung und Sprache werden in der FIDLEV (Verordnung zum FIDLEG) geregelt. Für die Schweiz ist entscheidend, eine angemessene Lösung zu finden und eine echte Alternative zum PRIIP KID zu schaffen, die von der integralen Übernahme der PRIIPs Regulierung absieht. Der Verband forciert, dass das PRIIP KID als gleichwertiges ausländisches Dokument ohne Einschränkungen in der Schweiz anstelle eines Basisinformationsblatts verwendet werden kann – wie durch den Gesetzgeber vorgesehen. Zudem hat er vorgeschlagen, dass das deutsche Produktinformationsblatt (sog. PIB) ebenfalls in der Schweiz eingesetzt werden kann.

Umsetzung MiFID 2 & PRIIPs Regulierung

Seit Januar 2018 muss die revidierte EU-Richtlinie über Märkte für Finanzinstrumente (MiFID 2) und die EU-Verordnung über Basisinformationsblätter für verpackte Anlageprodukte und Versicherungsanlageprodukte (PRIIPs-Verordnung) umgesetzt werden. Sie erfasst auch Finanzdienstleister aus Drittstaaten wie der Schweiz, wenn Finanzprodukte Kleinanlegern innerhalb des EWR angeboten werden.

Die Anforderungen der MiFID 2 befassen sich vornehmlich mit vertriebsbezogenen Themen, wie z.B. Anforderungen an die Kundenkategorisierung oder Kosten- und Zuwendungstransparenz. Sie setzen aber auch bei der Produktherstellung an. So hat der Hersteller neu ein Produktüberwachungsverfahren (Product Governance) einzuführen und zu unterhalten – inklusive Zielmarktbestimmung. Vor dem Vertrieb muss er für jedes Finanzinstrument einen Zielmarkt (Target Market) festlegen. Das European MiFID Template EMT ist wohl das am breitesten abgestützte und vom europäischen Dachverband für Strukturierte Produkte EUSIPA getragene Zielmarktkonzept. Auf technischer Ebene unterstützt die SIX Financial Services die Emittenten bei der Umsetzung des Zielmarktkonzepts mittels ihres RegHub.

Neben der Umsetzung der MiFID 2 waren und sind Struki-Emittenten durch die PRIIPs Regulierung gefordert. Trotz Verschiebung des Umsetzungszeitpunkt von Ende 2016 auf Anfang 2018 ein Wettlauf mit der Zeit. Hersteller von verpackten Anlageprodukten – insbesondere Strukis – müssen nunmehr ein standardisiertes Basisinformationsblatt (Key Information Document; PRIIP KID) erstellen: maximal drei Seiten mit den wesentlichen Merkmalen, die einen Vergleich mit anderen Produkten ermöglichen.

Beide Regulierungen verlangen eine erhöhte Kostentransparenz: auszuweisen sind nun Kosten des Instruments als auch der Dienstleistung. Im PRIIP KID ist nicht nur die Zusammensetzung der Kosten nach einer vorgegebenen Tabelle offen zu legen, die Kosten müssen zudem im Zeitverlauf dargestellt werden – unterteilt in einmalige, laufende und zusätzliche Kosten. Unter die einmaligen Kosten fallen «Einstiegskosten» – bei Strukis sind diese meist im Produktpreis enthalten. Laufende Kosten fallen bei Strukis in der Regel nicht an – ausser beispielsweise bei aktiv verwalteten Zertifikaten (actively managed certificates) mit einer Management- oder Verwaltungsgebühr – ebenso wenig wie zusätzliche Kosten.

Die MiFID 2 fordert zudem noch eine personalisierte Information über die im Zusammenhang mit der Anlage anfallenden Kosten. Potentielle Anlegern müssen die aggregierten Gesamtkosten – also Dienstleistungs- und Produktkosten – erfahren. In der Praxis wird dies häufig via Kostenblatt (cost sheet). Am «point-of sale» gilt es rechtzeitig vor dem Anlageentscheid zu informieren (ex-ante Kostentransparenz) – bei einer laufenden Geschäftsbeziehung muss die Bank Kunden mindestens einmal jährlich über die tatsächlich angefallenen Kosten aufklären (ex-post Kostentransparenz).

Irrenführende Performance-Szenarien und Kostendarstellungen im PRIIP KID

Bereits kurz nach der Einführung zeigen sich erste Probleme mit den Performance-Szenarien und Kostendarstellungen. Diese werden anhand von Simulationen aufgrund von historischen Entwicklungen auf der Basis der empfohlenen Haltedauer des Produkts berechnet.  Vor allem bei Produkten mit einer kurzen Laufzeit und bei Hebelprodukten kann diese Berechnungsmethode zu einer jährlichen Durchschnittsrendite von über 1’000% führen. Bei einer empfohlenen Haltedauer von einem Tag kann es auch zu einer Durchschnittsrendite im Millionenbereich kommen. Solche Performance-Szenarien sind problematisch, nicht nachvollziehbar und letztlich irreführend. Ähnliches findet sich bei den Kosten.

Auf europäischer Ebene wurde dies durch das Anschreiben der relevanten Aufsichtsbehörden adressiert, zudem suchten die Mitgliederverbände eine Übergangslösung. Drei Alternativen stehen zur Debatte, affaire à suivre:

  1. Eine sinnvolle Auslegung der Bestimmungen zur Berechnungsmethode, damit letztlich keine irreführenden Szenarien und Kosten ausgewiesen werden müssen.
  2. Eine Erklärung im PRIIP KID betreffend der irreführenden Szenarien und Kosten.
  3. Ein separates Informationsdokument betreffend der irreführenden Angaben im PRIIP KID.

Benchmark Regulation

Neu muss ab Januar 2018 auch die «EU-Benchmark-Verordnung» (kurz BMR) in vollem Umfang angewendet werden. Die BMR betrifft Indizes, die als Referenzwert dienen. Durch einen transparenten Kapitalmarkt sollen Anleger besser geschützt und das vertrauen gestärkt werden.

Primär sind Administratoren mit Sitz innerhalb der EU betroffen, welche Benchmarks bereit- bzw. erstellen. Der Einfluss der Benchmark-Verordnung geht aber über die EU hinaus. Wird ein Index oder Referenzwert in einem Drittstaat – etwa der Schweiz – berechnet, müssen sowohl Referenzwert als auch Administrator in ein spezielles Register eingetragen werden, damit der Referenzwert in der EU verwendet werden darf. Die ESMA kann beschliessen, dass der Rechtsrahmen und die Aufsichtspraxis in einem Drittstaat ausreichen, und somit nicht jeder Index & Anbieter geprüft werden muss.

Zentral ist insbesondere der Anwendungsbereich der BMR. Potentiell gelten etwa Baskets als Basiswerte von Strukis als Benchmark und fallen unter die Regulierung, sofern der Wert laufend publiziert wird. Erfasst sind allenfalls auch Actively Managed Certificates. Nach heutigem Verständnis werden solche Basiswerte von der BMR aber nicht erfasst, solange der Wert des Basket noch laufend publiziert wird – das Market Making sollte für sich allein nicht als indirekte Publikation des Basket-Wertes gelten.

SVSP News abonnieren