08.03.2018

Finanz’2018 – «Facing the new normal»

Switzerland’s biggest financial fair opened its doors at the beginning of February 2018, and celebrated its 20th anniversary fair with 3300 visitors. The focus shifted exclusively to professional investors. On account of the three-year refurbishment of Zurich’s Kongresshaus, they will be able to inform themselves about innovative investment opportunities in a challenging environment between 31 January and 1 February 2018 at the Event Hall StageOne in Zurich Oerlikon.

Refreshment for portfolios: structural product smoothies in product categories with strong sales

Under the motto «Facing the new normal», over 130 exhibitors presented concepts that investors can use to maintain performance, despite the low interest rate environment, or explained how globalisation and digitalisation are impacting markets. At the SSPA stand, smoothies with the flavours «leverage», «participation», «yield optimisation» and «capital protection» provided a vitamin kick and refreshment for consumers and their portfolios.

Making potential of structural products useful for pension funds – information & transparency key

Numerous panel discussions and lectures – including on structured products – also attracted interest. «Structured products and pension funds – perfect combination or illusion?» was the topic discussed by Maurice Pedergnana, Professor HSLU and Managing Partner at Zugerberg Finanz as well as Martin Roth, Managing Director of the Manor Pension Fund and Georg von Wattenwyl, SSPA Chairman, chaired by Philippe Béguelin, Head of the Markets Department at «Finanz und Wirtschaft», focusing on innovative options for deployment in the pension fund field. In short: This will take extensive educational campaigns and a great deal of transparency, because «pension fund board members need to be taught to look beyond high bond ratios» and to include structured products in their portfolios, according to Pedergnana. Particularly in times of rising interest rates, stated von Wattenwyl, structured products are «a good alternative to bonds» – and there is still untapped potential. Pedergnana explained that about «30 to 35% of the capital in the bond segment of pension funds is essentially dormant.» When it comes to their deployment, it is also important that structured products are no longer thought to be opaque, thus enabling them to be deployed more easily. For this purpose, the association is working proactively with the relevant stakeholders.

New «SP Portfolio Optimizer» features: Filmed use cases show targeted applications

Updates on the «SP Portfolio Optimizer» app that was launched last year were presented by Peter Keller, SSPA Head Operation & Standards and Florian Müller-Reiter, head of Derivatives Technologies, swissQuant Group. Filmed use cases illustrate in a simple and straightforward manner how the app can be used, enabling the potential of structured products in portfolios to be simulated in a vivid manner.

The group of structured products experts Dominique Böhler, Head Public Distribution Switzerland, Commerzbank, Willi F.X. Bucher, Head of Products & Sales Unit, Raiffeisen Schweiz Genossenschaft as well as Manuel Dürr, Head of Public Solutions, Leonteq Securities and Dr York-Peter Meyer, Head Financial Product Advisory German-Speaking Switzerland & Ticino, Bank Vontobel, chaired by André Buck, Head Sales, SIX Swiss Exchange highlight «investment opportunities for professional investors – where investments are currently worthwhile». The structured products industry is certainly no stranger to innovative products & technological developments! Francis Gardeyn, Head Cross Asset Structuring, and Dirk Wieringa, Head Client Coverage Liquid Alternatives, both from Credit Suisse, showed how these can be put to quantitative use during their talk on «Quantitative Investment Strategies».

Photo gallery:

SSPA News Signup

08.03.2018

Finanz’2018 – « Facing the new normal »

Pour la 20e fois déjà, le plus grand salon financier suisse a ouvert ses portes début février 2018. Il a célébré cet anniversaire par un salon de jubilé auquel 3300 visiteurs se sont rendus. Désormais, l’accent était mis sur les investisseurs professionnels, qui, en raison des travaux de transformation de trois ans du Kongresshaus de Zurich, ont pu venir s’informer du 31 janvier au 1er février 2018 à la salle événementielle StageOne de Zurich Oerlikon sur les possibilités de placement innovantes dans le contexte exigeant actuel.

«Coup de fraîcheur» dans le portefeuille: des smoothies de produits structurés dans des catégories de produits très vendus

Sous la devise «Facing the new normal», plus de 130 exposants ont présenté des concepts permettant aux investisseurs de maintenir la performance en dépit de l’environnement de taux bas ou expliquant les effets sur les marchés de la progression de la mondialisation et de la numérisation. Sur le stand de l’ASPS, des smoothies correspondant aux orientations «levier», «participation», «optimisation du rendement» et «protection du capital» ont assuré l’apport vitaminique et la fraîcheur dans le portefeuille de leurs consommateurs.

Rendre le potentiel des produits structurés utilisable pour les caisses de pension: la clarification et la transparence sont essentielles

Les nombreuses conférences spécialisées tout comme les tables rondes, qui ont entre autres porté sur les produits structurés, ont également suscité un vif intérêt. « Produits structurés et caisses de pension – combinaison idéale ou illusion? » tel était le thème dont ont discuté Maurice Pedergnana, professeur à la HSLU et partenaire gérant chez Zugerberg Finanz ainsi que Martin Roth, directeur de la caisse de pension de Manor et Georg von Wattenwyl, président de l’ASPS, dans le cadre d’un débat animé par Philippe Béguelin, responsable du département Marchés de «Finanz und Wirtschaft», évoquant des possibilité innovante d’utilisation dans le domaine des caisses de pension. Conclusion: il faudra encore un certain travail d’explication et une grande transparence, car les membres des conseils de fondation doivent être formés, afin de se détourner de la part importante d’obligations et d’intégrer dans le portefeuille des produits structurés (Maurice Pedergnana). En particulier en périodes de taux en hausse, selon Georg von Wattenwyl, les produits structurés représentent une bonne alternative aux obligations, et il existe un potentiel à exploiter, pour Maurice Pedergnana d’environ 30 à 35% de capital en friche dans le domaine obligataire des caisses de pension. Il est important aussi pour qu’on les utilise que les produits structurés ne soient plus fichés comme manquant de transparence et puissent alors être mis en œuvre de manière plus simple. L’association s’engage activement dans ce but, en coopération avec les parties prenantes concernées.

Nouvelles fonctions du « SP Portfolio Optimizer »: des cas pratiques filmés montrent une application ciblée

Peter Keller, Head Operation & Standards ASPS et Florian Müller-Reiter, responsable Derivatives Technologies, swissQuant Group ont présenté les mises à jour de l’application «SP Portfolio Optimizer» lancée l’année dernière. Des cas pratiques filmés montrent simplement et clairement comment utiliser l’application et simuler ainsi de manière simple le potentiel des produits structurés dans le portefeuille.

Les experts des produits structurés Dominique Böhler, Head Public Distribution Switzerland, Commerzbank, Willi F.X. Bucher, responsable du département Produits & distribution, Raiffeisen Suisse société coopérative ainsi que Manuel Dürr, Head of Public Solutions, Leonteq Securities et York-Peter Meyer, Head Financial Product Advisory Suisse alémanique & Tessin, Bank Vontobel, ont montré, dans un débat animé par André Buck, Head Sales, SIX Swiss Exchange « les possibilités de placement pour les investisseurs professionnels – quels sont actuellement les investissements rentables ». Les produits innovants et les développements technologiques ne s’arrêtent pas devant le secteur des produits structurés! Francis Gardeyn, Head Cross Asset Structuring, et Dirk Wieringa, Head Client Coverage Liquid Alternatives, tous deux au Credit Suisse, ont montré des possibilités de mise en œuvre quantitative dans l’exposé « stratégies d’investissement quantitatives ».

Cliquez ici pour accéder à la galerie photos:

S’inscrire au News ASPS