08.03.2017

Update Legal & Regulations

LSFin/LEFin

The Council of States was the first parliamentary body to debate the statutory instruments FIDLEG/FINIG in the end of 2016 – a minority drawn from the SP and CVP parties successfully argued for a statutory reversal of the burden of proof for prospectus and BIB liability. In the view of the SSPA, however, tightening the prospectus liability provision does not actually solve any problems: In the case of past claims for damages, the prospectuses were correct; the advice was wrong. For this reason, the SSPA is arguing that this should be corrected by the National Council. The Economic Commission of the National Council began its consultation – although the laws were originally planned to come into force on 1 January 2018, this is no longer realistic. FIDLEG and FINIG are likely to come into force on 1 July 2018, whereby FIDLEG is expected to be introduced in a number of stages.

PRIIPs & MIFID2

The EU PRIIPs Regulation – and with it the introduction of standard product information sheets (so-called «KID») for «packaged products» – will definitively come into force in January 2018, coinciding with the start of the MIFID2/MIFIR regulatory package. From the perspective of the industry, this is to be welcomed. The technical implementation provisions (so-called «RTS») have yet to be submitted. These were rejected by the EU parliament at the end of last year on the grounds that they need further revising, above all in respect of insurance products.

The planned enactment MIFID2 Directive also raises many detailed questions. The most obvious, at present, is the issue of how the target market for financial products marketed to private clients needs to be defined. Together with the European umbrella association EUSIPA and other national associations, the SSPA positioned itself here clearly at the beginning of January. The EUSIPA clearly stated that the definition of the target market should not cause distribution channels to be restricted. Even in the case of more complex products distributed only amongst a limited circle of investors, it still needs to be possible to order these products online on individual investor initiative.

Another sensitive issue is the interaction between MIFID2 and PRIIPs – for example the target market defined in accordance with MIFID2 needs to be specified in the PRIIPs-KID document. The industry will also need to ensure that the disclosure of costs pursuant to PRIIPs and MIFID2 is realised using uniform rules.

Section 871(m)

On 1 January 2017 a US regulation came (partially) into force known by the pseudonym 871(m), which will introduce a withholding tax on so-called dividend equivalent payments. The tax relates to dividend-dependent revenues that non-US investors generate by investing in certain financial instruments that relate to US equities (excluding certain qualified indices). Structured products are also subject to the new US tax, irrespective of where the issuer is domiciled, where the structured products are sold and which legal system these are governed by. As at 1 January 2017, only Delta 1 products are subject to the withholding tax pursuant to Section 871(m). For all other structured products that are covered by Section 871(m), the withholding tax applies from 1 January 2018. 2017 and 2018 have been designated «phase-in years», during which the IRS will take account of «good faith efforts» in respect of adherence to Section 871(m). The SSPA has been working closely on the new regulatory requirement for some time, and has also been addressing how this can be implemented. In this conjunction, the SSPA prepared a memorandum and circulated this amongst its members on 20 December 2016. This document sets out the legal situation, and makes recommendations in respect of implementation of Section 871(m). When it comes to implementation, however, a number of uncertainties remain. The topic remains on the SSPA’s agenda, and the Association is determined to support its members here and to provide a forum for discussion.

SSPA News Signup

08.03.2017

Update Legal & Regulations

FIDLEG/FINIG

FIDLEG/FINIG wurden Ende 2016 im Ständerat beraten – eine Minderheit aus SP und CVP setzte sich mit dem Antrag durch, bei der Haftung für Prospekt und BIB eine gesetzliche Beweislastumkehr einzuführen. Nach Meinung des SVSP löst die Verschärfung der Prospekthaftungsbestimmung aber keine Probleme: In Schadensfällen der Vergangenheit waren die Prospekte richtig, die Beratung war aber falsch. Der SVSP setzt sich daher hier für eine Korrektur im Nationalrat ein. Die Wirtschaftskommission des Nationalrats hat die Beratung aufgenommen – das Eintreten beider Gesetze ist unbestritten, ein Inkrafttreten wie ursprünglich geplant per 1. Januar 2018 ist wenig realistisch. Heute gehen wir davon aus, dass das FIDLEG und FINIG auf den 1. Juli 2018 in Kraft treten wird, wobei beim FIDLEG von einem stufenweisen Inkrafttreten auszugehen ist.

PRIIPs & MIFID2

Die EU PRIIPs-Verordnung – und mit ihr die Einführung einheitlicher Produktinformationsblätter (sogenannte «KID») für «packaged products» – tritt definitiv erst per Januar 2018 in Kraft und fällt damit zeitlich mit dem Start des MIFID2/MIFIR-Regelungspaktes zusammen, was aus Sicht der Industrie zu begrüssen ist. Derzeit erwartet man noch die Vorlage der technischen Ausführungsbestimmungen (sogenannte «RTS»), die vom EU-Parlament Ende letzten Jahres mit dem Hinweis abgelehnt wurden, dass sie vor allem im Hinblick auf Versicherungsprodukte nochmals überarbeitet werden sollten.

Auch das Inkrafttreten der MIFID2 Richtlinie wirft Detailfragen auf – so etwa, wie künftig der Zielmarkt für an Privatkunden vertriebene Finanzprodukte anzugeben sein soll. Der SVSP hat sich hier, in Einklang mit dem europäischen Dachverband EUSIPA und weitern Landesverbänden, klar positioniert. Die Definition des Zielmarktes darf nicht zur Einschränkung der Vertriebskanäle führen – auch bei komplexeren Produkten für einen beschränkten Anlegerkreis muss die Möglichkeit erhalten bleiben, diese Produkte online als Selbstentscheider zu ordern.

Weiterer Zündstoff liegt in der Wechselwirkung zwischen MIFID2 und PRIIPs – so muss etwa der nach MIFID2 definierte Zielmarkt im PRIIPs-KID-Dokument angeben werden. Auch wird die Industrie darauf drängen müssen, dass die Kostenoffenlegung nach PRIIPs und MIFID2 einheitlichen Regeln folgt.

Section 871(m)

Am 1. Januar 2017 ist eine unter dem Pseudonym 871(m) bekannt geworden U.S.-amerikanische Regulierung (teilweise) in Kraft getreten, welche eine Verrechnungssteuer auf sogenannte «dividend equivalent payments» einführt. Sie bezieht sich auf dividendenabhängige Erträge, welche Nicht US-Anleger mittels Anlage in Instrumente erzielen, die sich auf US-Aktien (ausgenommen sind gewisse qualifizierte Indizes) beziehen. Auch Strukturierte Produkte werden von der neuen U.S.-Steuer erfasst, unabhängig des Sitzes des Emittenten, wo die Produkte vertrieben werden und welchem Recht diese unterstehen. Per 1. Januar 2017 unterliegen der Verrechnungssteuer nach Section 871(m) nur Delta 1 Produkte. Für alle anderen Strukturieren Produkte, welche von Section 871(m) erfasst werden, gilt die Verrechnungssteuer ab 1. Januar 2018. Dabei gelten 2017 bzw. 2018 als «phase-in years» während denen der IRS die «good faith efforts» berücksichtigt bei der Einhaltung von Section 871(m). Der SVSP befasst sich seit einiger Zeit intensiv mit der neuen regulatorischen Anforderung und deren Umsetzung. Ein Informationspapier zeigt den Mitgliedern die rechtliche Situation auf und gibt Empfehlungen im Zusammenhang mit der Umsetzung der Section 871(m) ab. Bei der Umsetzung gibt es aber weiterhin verschiedene Unsicherheiten – das Thema bleibt auf der Agenda und der Verband ist bestrebt, seine Mitglieder hier zu unterstützen und ein Diskussionsforum zu bieten.

SVSP News abonnieren