17.02.2016

Optimising transparency with comprehensive Swiss market statistics

MarktstatistikThe SSPA is continuing to improve the transparency of structured products for existing and potential investors. For the first time, the new supplementary market statistics, which will be made available each quarter, contains detailed figures for the entire market, thereby establishing a new standard for the Swiss market. The report reflects current trends & developments, providing a comprehensive picture of the Swiss sector.
For example, the statistics show that in 2015, a turnover of more than CHF 235 billion was generated with structured products created in or for Switzerland. In this conjunction, the proportion of unlisted products was around 70%. Structured products in and from Switzerland are mostly linked to equities and foreign exchange; investments for optimising yields are the most popular.

As the market statistics prepared by Boston Consulting Group for the first time also include non-listed structured products, the figures provide a comprehensive overview of developments in the Swiss market. Barclays, Banque Cantonale Vaudoise, Credit Suisse, Goldman Sachs, Julius Baer, Leonteq, RBC Capital Markets, UBS, Vontobel and Zurich Cantonal Bank as well as one further SSPA member took part in the first survey of supplementary market data. They represent a majority of the Swiss market. The SSPA aims to integrate all Swiss market players in these market statistics.

Important conclusions (Q4 2015):

  • With a turnover of around CHF 235.1 billion, the overall market trend in the past year was mostly stable and continuous.
  • At more than 63% of sales, yield-optimisation products accounted for the lion’s share, fol-lowed by participation products at more than 16% and leverage products at around 14%.
  • Equities and foreign exchange are the most popular underlyings for structured products. In the last quarter of 2015, 47% of structured products were linked to foreign exchange, and 44% to equities.
  • The ratio of non-listed to listed products sold was 75% to 25%. The number of transactions with listed products was more than twice the number with OTC products.
  • Around two-thirds of the turnover is generated in the primary market, while the transactions are almost exclusively executed on the secondary market. Most of the transactions on the secondary market involve leverage products.
  • The most important currencies for Swiss structured products are EUR (36.9%), USD (32.3%) and CHF (17.4%).

Extensive reporting on the new market statistics

Press Covreage Marktstatistik

SSPA News Signup

17.02.2016

Optimierung der Transparenz dank umfassender Marktstatistik über Schweizer Markt

MarktstatistikDer SVSP verbessert die Transparenz über Strukturierte Produkte für bestehende und potentielle Investoren weiter. Die neue ergänzende Marktstatistik, die quartalsweise erscheinen wird, zeigt erstmals detaillierte Zahlen für den Gesamtmarkt und schafft so einen neuen Standard für den Schweizer Markt. Der Report spiegelt aktuell Trends & Entwicklungen und zeichnet ein umfassendes Bild über die Schweizer Branche.
So zeigt die Statistik, dass der Umsatz der in der oder für die Schweiz kreierten Strukturierten Produkte sich 2015 auf über CHF 235 Mrd. belief. Der Anteil der nicht-kotierten Produkte beträgt dabei rund 70%. Strukturierte Produkte in und aus der Schweiz basieren meist auf Aktien und Devisen; An-lagen zur Renditeoptimierung erfreuen sich der grössten Beliebtheit.

Die von der Boston Consulting Group erstellte Marktstatistik berücksichtigt erstmals auch den Bereich nicht börsenkotierter Strukturierten Produkte und ermöglicht so einen umfassenden Überblick über Entwicklungen im Schweizer Markt. An der ersten Erhebung der ergänzenden Marktzahlen haben Barclays, Banque Cantonale Vaudoise, Credit Suisse, Goldman Sachs, Julius Baer, Leonteq, Notenstein La Roche, UBS, Vontobel, Zürcher Kantonalbank sowie ein weiteres SVSP-Mitglied teilgenommen. Sie repräsentieren den Grossteil des Schweizer Marktes. Ziel des SVSP ist es, alle Schweizer Marktteilnehmer in diese Marktstatistik zu integrieren.

Wichtige Erkenntnisse (Q4 2015):

  • Der Gesamtmarkt hat sich im vergangenen Jahr mit einem generierten Umsatz von rund CHF 235.1 Mrd. grösstenteils stabil und kontinuierlich entwickelt.
  • Mit über 63% des Umsatzes entfällt das Gros auf Renditeoptimierungs-Produkte, gefolgt von Partizipations- und Hebel-Produkten mit über 16% bzw. rund 14%.
  • Die häufigsten Basiswerte von umgesetzten Strukturierten Produkte bilden grundsätzlich Aktien und Devisen. Im letzten Quartal 2015 basierten 47% der Strukturierten Produkte auf Devisen, 44% auf Aktien.
  • Das Umsatzverhältnis nicht-kotierte zu kotierte Produkte betrug zuletzt 75% zu 25%. Die Anzahl Transaktionen mit kotierten Produkten war mehr als doppelt so hoch wie mit OTC-Produkten.
  • Rund zwei Drittel des Umsatzes wird im Primärmarkt erzielt, während die Transaktionen fast ausschliesslich im Sekundärmarkt stattfinden. Der Grossteil der Transaktionen im Sekundär-märkt erfolgt in Hebelprodukten.
  • Als wichtigste Währung für Schweizer Strukturierte Produkte werden EUR (36.9%), USD (32.3%) und CHF (17.4%) verwendet.

Umfangreiche Berichterstattung zur neuen Marktstatistik

Press Covreage Marktstatistik

SVSP News abonnieren