17.02.2016

Optimising transparency with comprehensive Swiss market statistics

MarktstatistikThe SSPA is continuing to improve the transparency of structured products for existing and potential investors. For the first time, the new supplementary market statistics, which will be made available each quarter, contains detailed figures for the entire market, thereby establishing a new standard for the Swiss market. The report reflects current trends & developments, providing a comprehensive picture of the Swiss sector.
For example, the statistics show that in 2015, a turnover of more than CHF 235 billion was generated with structured products created in or for Switzerland. In this conjunction, the proportion of unlisted products was around 70%. Structured products in and from Switzerland are mostly linked to equities and foreign exchange; investments for optimising yields are the most popular.

As the market statistics prepared by Boston Consulting Group for the first time also include non-listed structured products, the figures provide a comprehensive overview of developments in the Swiss market. Barclays, Banque Cantonale Vaudoise, Credit Suisse, Goldman Sachs, Julius Baer, Leonteq, RBC Capital Markets, UBS, Vontobel and Zurich Cantonal Bank as well as one further SSPA member took part in the first survey of supplementary market data. They represent a majority of the Swiss market. The SSPA aims to integrate all Swiss market players in these market statistics.

Important conclusions (Q4 2015):

  • With a turnover of around CHF 235.1 billion, the overall market trend in the past year was mostly stable and continuous.
  • At more than 63% of sales, yield-optimisation products accounted for the lion’s share, fol-lowed by participation products at more than 16% and leverage products at around 14%.
  • Equities and foreign exchange are the most popular underlyings for structured products. In the last quarter of 2015, 47% of structured products were linked to foreign exchange, and 44% to equities.
  • The ratio of non-listed to listed products sold was 75% to 25%. The number of transactions with listed products was more than twice the number with OTC products.
  • Around two-thirds of the turnover is generated in the primary market, while the transactions are almost exclusively executed on the secondary market. Most of the transactions on the secondary market involve leverage products.
  • The most important currencies for Swiss structured products are EUR (36.9%), USD (32.3%) and CHF (17.4%).

Extensive reporting on the new market statistics

Press Covreage Marktstatistik

SSPA News Signup

17.02.2016

Optimisation de la transparence grâce à une statistique complète du marché suisse

LMarktstatistik’ASPS améliore la transparence des produits structurés pour les investisseurs actuels et potentiels. La nouvelle statistique complémentaire du marché qui paraîtra à un rythme trimestriel présente pour la première fois des chiffrés détaillés concernant le marché global et instaure ainsi un nouveau standard pour le marché suisse. Le rapport reflète les tendances actuelles et les évolutions et dresse un tableau complet du secteur suisse.
La statistique montre ainsi que le chiffre d’affaires des produits structurés créés en Suisse ou pour la Suisse s’est élevé à plus de CHF 235 milliards en 2015. La part des produits non cotées est d’environ 70%. Les produits structurés en et de Suisse se basent généralement sur des actions et des devises, les placements permettant d’optimiser le rendement sont les plus populaires.

Pour la première fois, la statistique du marché établie par Boston Consulting Group tient également compte du secteur des produits structurés non cotés et donne ainsi un aperçu complet des évolutions sur le marché suisse. Barclays, Banque Cantonale Vaudoise, Credit Suisse, Goldman Sachs, Julius Baer, Leonteq, Notenstein La Roche, UBS, Vontobel, Zürcher Kantonalbank et un autre membre de l’ASPS ont participé à la première collecte des données complémentaires du marché. Ils représentent la majeure partie du marché suisse. L’ASPS a pour but d’intégrer l’ensemble des acteurs du marché suisse dans cette statistique du marché.

Enseignements importants (T4 2015):

  • Dans son ensemble, le marché a connu une évolution globalement stable et continue l’an dernier, avec un chiffre d’affaires généré d’environ CHF 235,1 milliards.
  • La part la plus importante du chiffre d’affaires, à savoir 63%, correspond aux produits d’optimisation du rendement, suivis des produits de participation et à effet de levier, avec res-pectivement plus de 16% et environ 14%.
  • Les sous-jacents les plus fréquents des produits structurés utilisés sont constitués d’actions et de devises. Au dernier trimestre 2015, 47% des produits structurés s’appuyaient sur des devises et 44% sur des actions.
  • Le rapport entre le chiffre d’affaires des produits non cotés et cotés était dernièrement de 75% contre 25%. Le nombre de transactions avec des produits cotés était plus de deux fois plus élevé qu’avec des produits de gré à gré.
  • Environ deux tiers du chiffre d’affaires sont réalisés sur le marché primaire, alors que les transactions se déroulent presque exclusivement sur le marché secondaire. La majeure partie des transactions sur le marché secondaire porte sur des produits à effet de levier.
  • Les monnaies les plus utilisées pour les produits structurés suisses sont l’EUR (36.9%), l’USD (32.3%) et le CHF (17.4%).

Rapport exhaustif concernant la nouvelle statistique du marché

Press Covreage Marktstatistik

S’inscrire au News ASPS