19.10.2017

International Structured Products Forum Lucerne 2017 – “The Swiss Pension Fund System – Challenging the Investment Industry”

90 participants from Switzerland and abroad used the traditional industry meeting at the beginning of September in Lucerne for “food for thought” in the challenging political and regulatory market environment. Dr Michael Loretan, Head of the Asset Management Division at FINMA threw light on this in his keynote speech, identifying the Swiss government’s milestones, and recapping the discussions in parliament on the final implementation of the FIDLEG, FINIG and FinfraG statutory instruments.

Structured products and pension funds – further education needed

The panel discussion on the topic of Swiss retirement provisioning was introduced by Dr Peter Grünenfelder, Director of Avenir Suisse: previous reforms did not go far enough. In his view, economies of scale and the freedom to pick and choose pension funds to make the system more efficient are game changers. The meeting was chaired by “Finanz und Wirtschaft” journalist Philippe Béguelin. There was heated debate amongst the panellists Dr David S. Gerber, Head of Financial Market Policy at the State Secretariat for International Financial Matters (SIF), Prof Dr Maurice Pedergnana, Professor at the HSLU and Chief Economist at Zugerberg Finanz, as well as Nicolas Walon, Head of Financial Engineering at Bank J. Safra Sarasin. Conclusion: there is great need for reform on the regulatory side, as well as in respect of the provision of knowledge and information. The necessary know-how is often lacking in particular amongst the ranks of board of trustee members of Swiss pension funds, who play a key role. This means they fail to actively include structured products in their asset diversification and risk management perspectives within portfolios.

Untapped investment potential at pension funds

Current regulatory challenges were discussed from a national and international perspective in the legal workshop, chaired by Daniel Häberli, Head of Legal & Regulations at the SSPA. In the afternoon, Nicolas Walon highlighted the investment process in a pension fund. Thanks to his work on the Investment Committee of the Pension Fund of Bank J. Safra Sarasin, he was able to provide interesting insights into how pension funds work. In summary: “More is possible than has been implemented to date by most pension funds.” This potential is to be used by raising the profile of structured products, providing knowledge and information, and by easing the regulatory hurdles. The participants also provided many thought-provoking ideas.

“Across the border” Thomas Wulf, General Secretary of EUSIPA, threw light inter alia on the current debate concerning Brexit and European product regulation. Belgian impressions were provided by Gilles Staquet, Chairman of the Board of Directors at BELSIPA. He presented the market, and explained how decisions taken by the Belgian regulator often challenged the financial industry.

Next September will see another “International Structured Products Forum”. Details will be made available at the appropriate time. At any rate, 5 & 6 September 2018 should be noted in your diaries.

SSPA News Signup

19.10.2017

International Structured Products Forum Lucerne 2017 – «The Swiss Pension Fund System – Challenging the Investment Industry»

Début septembre, à Lucerne, plus de 90 participants venus de Suisse et de l’étranger ont profité de la traditionnelle rencontre de branche pour alimenter leur réflexion dans un environnement de marché exigeant sur le plan politique et réglementaire. Ce dernier a été commenté par Michael Loretan, chef de la division Asset Management de la FINMA dans son discours liminaire, lors duquel il a par ailleurs mis en évidence les jalons de la réglementation suisse et abordé la question des débats parlementaires sur la mise en œuvre finale de la LSFin, de la LEFin et de la LIMF.

Produits structurés et caisses de pension: un travail d’explication supplémentaire est nécessaire

En prélude de la discussion de panel sur la prévoyance vieillesse en Suisse, Peter Grünenfelder, le directeur d’Avenir Suisse, a expliqué que les réformes actuelles ne suffisaient pas et qu’il incitait à changer la donne en instaurant le libre choix des caisses de pension, pour un système plus efficace. Le débat contradictoire a été animé par Philippe Béguelin, journaliste de «Finanz und Wirtschaft», avec comme participants David S. Gerber, responsable de la section politique à l’égard des marchés financiers auprès du Secrétariat d’Etat aux questions financières Internationales (SIF), Prof. Maurice Pedergnana, enseignant à la HSLU et chef-économiste chez Zugerberg Finanz, et Nicolas Walon, responsable Financial Engineering auprès de la banque J. Safra Sarasin. La conclusion est que le besoin de réformes est énorme, tant sur le plan réglementaire qu’au niveau de la transmission des connaissances. Au sein des conseils de fondation des caisses de pension suisses, qui jouent un rôle clé, il manque souvent les connaissances nécessaires pour intégrer activement les produits structurés dans la répartition de la fortune et les perspectives de gestion des risques.

Le potentiel de placement pour les caisses de pension est réel

Dans le cadre du workshop Legal, un éclairage a été porté sur les exigences réglementaires actuelles dans la perspective nationale et internationale, sous la direction de Daniel Häberli, responsable Legal & Regulations de l’ASPS. Dans l’après-midi, Nicolas Walon a expliqué le processus de placement dans une caisse de pension. Sur la base de son activité au sein du comité d’investissement de la caisse de pension de la Banque J. Safra Sarasin, il a donné un aperçu intéressant du fonctionnement des caisses de pension. En conclusion: «On peut faire plus que ce qui est mis en œuvre pour le moment dans la plupart des caisses de pension». Il faut exploiter ce potentiel en faisant un travail d’explication, en transmettant les connaissances nécessaires et en facilitant la réglementation. Les pistes de réflexion données par les participants n’ont pas manqué.

Au-delà de la frontière, Thomas Wulf, secrétaire général de l’EUSIPA, a entre autres jeté un éclairage sur le débat actuel autour du Brexit et de la réglementation européenne sur les produits. Gilles Staquet, président du conseil d’administration de BELSIPA, a très bien rendu compte de ce qui se passe en Belgique en présentant le marché et en montrant comment les décisions du législateur belge mettent souvent à l’épreuve l’industrie de la finance.

L’«International Structured Products Forum» aura lieu en septembre prochain et les détails correspondants vous seront communiqués en temps utile. Il faut d’ores et déjà réserver dans son agenda les 5 et 6 septembre 2018.

S’inscrire au News ASPS