23.11.2016

International Structured Products Forum Lucerne 2016 – international cutting-edge sector meeting

The established meeting of the sector was held this year on 7 and 8 September, with Lucerne again serving as the venue. 85 participants from Switzerland and abroad used the event to exchange views and opinions. With an attractive and varied programme, SIX Structured Products and SSPA supplied “food for thoughts” within a market environment that is characterised by political and regulatory uncertainties.

img_20160907_100939In the current persistently low interest environment, structured products could become an increasingly interesting investment vehicle for pension funds. For this reason, their deployment was discussed in detail by the inaugural panel comprising Sebastian Frehner (National Councillor, Canton of Basel), Marco Bagutti (Occupational Pension Contingency Fund) and Dr Vera Kupper Staub (Federal Supervisory Commission for Occupational Provisioning). SSPA Chairman Georg von Wattenwyl hosted the interesting debate, which addressed amongst other things the possibility of using structured products to implement the 2020 pension and retirement reform. Pension funds can already use structured products as alternative investments. At present, they are deployed only very sparingly. For this reason, the sector needs to make new proposals to promote the broad deployment of structured products in the field of retirement provisioning. The association will be addressing this topic intensively in future.

There were topical keynote speeches. Jörg Bode (Leoteq Securities Ltd.) addressed the issue of the extent to which FinTech and digitalisation are revolutionising the financial sector, while Alain Bigar (Leoteq Securities Ltd.), examined which regulatory innovations and changes are likely to be brought about by 871 (m).

img_20160907_185937A number of workshops enabled participants to discuss topical issues and projects. They were able, for example, to test the new SSPA app – the SP Portfolio Optimizer – which will be officially launched at the beginning of 2017. The results of a survey conducted amongst 190 investors and 57 client advisors on the image and in particular the name “structured products” were discussed with participants. The study showed, inter alia, that the name had positive connotations and is considered dynamic and innovative by structured product investors. The Lawyers Workshop examined current regulatory aspects of the sector, and provided an update on topical questions such as PRIIPs regulation, as well as the most important aspects and possible solutions for the new Ordinance 871 (m) of the American IRS.

EUSIPA Secretary General Thomas Wulf cast a look at the European environment in his speech “Inside Brussels”, examining pan-European developments and trends. Zak de Mariveles (UK Structured Products Association) focused on current events in Great Britain, and took a humorous look at the sometimes significant differences between the structured products fields on both sides of the English Channel.

Next September will see another “International Structured Products Forum”. Details will be made available at the appropriate time. At any rate, 6 & 7 September 2017 should be noted in your diaries.

SSPA News Signup

23.11.2016

International Structured Products Forum Lucerne 2016 – internationales Branchentreffen am Puls der Zeit

Das traditionelle Branchentreffen fand auch dieses Jahr am 7. und 8. September in Luzern statt. 85 Teilnehmer aus dem In und Ausland nutzten den Event als Meinungs- und Austauschplattform. Mit einem attraktiven und abwechslungsreichen Programm sorgten SIX Structured Products und SVSP für «food for thoughts» im von politischen und regulatorische Unsicherheiten geprägten Marktumfeld.

img_20160907_100939Im andauernd tiefen Zinsumfeld könnten Strukturierte Produkte für Pensionskassen zu einem immer interessanteren Anlagevehikel werden. Daher wurde deren Einsatz am Auftakt-Panel von Sebastian Frehner (Nationalrat, Kanton Basel), Marco Bagutti (Stiftung Auffangeinrichtung BVG) und Dr. Vera Kupper Staub (Oberaufsichtskommission Berufliche Vorsorge) ausführlich diskutiert. SVSP-Präsident Georg von Wattenwyl moderierte den interessanten Austausch, der u.a. die Möglichkeiten des Einsatzes von Strukis bei der Umsetzung der Pensions- und Altersreform 2020 thematisierte. Bereits heute könnten Strukturierte Produkte von Pensionskassen als alternative Anlagen eingesetzt werden. Dieser Einsatz erfolgt momentan noch sehr zurückhaltend. Hier ist die Branche gefordert, um mit neuen Vorschlägen, den breiten Einsatz von  Strukturierten Produkten in der Altersvorsorge zu fördern.  Der Verband wird dieses Thema zukünftig intensiv verfolgen.

Am Puls der Zeit zeigten die Key Note Speeches von Jörg Bode (Leoteq Securities Ltd.), in wieweit FinTech und Digitalisierung den Finanzsektor revolutionieren, sowie von Alain Bigar (Leoteq Securities Ltd.), welcheregulatorischen Neuerungen und Veränderungen durch 871 (m) zu skizzieren sind.

img_20160907_185937Verschiedene Workshops ermöglichten den Teilnehmern die Diskussion aktueller Themen und Projekte. So konnte die neue App des SVSP – der SP Portfolio Optimizer – der anfangs 2017 offiziell gelauncht wird, getestet werden. Diskutiert mit den Teilnehmern wurden auch die Resultate einer Umfrage bei 190 Investoren und 57 Kundenberatern über das Image und insbesondere den Namen «Strukturierte Produkte». Die Studie zeigte u.a. auf, dass der Name positiv konnotiert ist und Struki-Investoren als dynamisch und innovativ gelten. Der Lawyers Workshop beleuchtete die aktuellen regulatorischen Aspekte der Branche und gab ein Update über aktuelle Fragestellungen wie PRIIPs Regulierung sowie die wichtigsten Aspekte und mögliche Lösungsansätze für die neue Verordnung 871 (m) des amerikanischen IRS.

Einen Blick ins Europäische Umfeld warf Thomas Wulf (EUSIPA Generalsekretär) mit «Inside Brussels» und beleuchtete die europaweiten Entwicklungen & Tendenzen. Den Fokus auf aktuelle Ereignisse in Grossbritannien legte Zak de Mariveles (UK Structured Products Association) und verdeutlichte humorvoll die teils doch markanten Unterschiede im Struki-Bereich dies- und jenseits des Ärmelkanals.

Auch kommenden September heisst es «International Structured Products Forum», Details werden zu gegebener Zeit kommuniziert. Vorgemerkt werden können der 6. & 7. September 2017 allemal.

SVSP News abonnieren